New: $16.99

  • ASIN: B000OV0W80
Binding: Audio CD
Brand: Monk, Thelonious
EAN: 0826596016047
  • EANListElement= 0826596016047
  • ItemDimensions:
  • Height= 50
  • Length= 525
  • Weight= 22
  • Width= 600
  • Label: Classics France
    Manufacturer: Classics France
    NumberOfDiscs: 1
    NumberOfItems: 1
  • Height= 54
  • Length= 555
  • Weight= 18
  • Width= 497
  • ProductGroup: Music
    ProductTypeName: ABIS_MUSIC
    Publisher: Classics France
    ReleaseDate: 2007-06-19
    Studio: Classics France
    Title: 1951-1952
    UPC: 826596016047
  • UPCListElement= 826596016047
  • Product Description

    Volume two of the complete recordings of Thelonius Monk opens with the first session he was able to make after a three year hiatus. Surrounded by musicians he had previously played and recorded with, the pianist felt safe and secure. The trio sessions for Prestige are not as well known as the music Monk made for Blue Note but they are musically stunning and rank among the best things Monk ever made. Considering the high level on these two sessions, it is to be regretted that Monk did not record more often in such contexts.