Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 53: and Romance for Violin and Orchestra in F Minor, Op. 11 (Dover Music Scores)

New: $16.95

Price as of 06/23/17

  • ASIN: 0486449645

Product Description


Together for the first time in a single affordable volume, these are authoritative editions of Dvorak's Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 53, and his Romance for Violin and Orchestra in F Minor, Op. 11.
With its unconventional structure and Czech melodies, the Violin Concerto in A Minor broke the centuries-old mold of the concerto form. Dvorak wrote the work in 1879 for violinist Joseph Joachim, a strict classicist who objected to its unorthodox style. Generations of performers and listeners have disagreed with the violinist and embraced the concerto, rejoicing in its lyric beauty.
Thematically drawn from an earlier abandoned string quartet, the Romance for Violin and Orchestra has become a crowd favorite and repertoire standard. This mesmerizing reverie builds to a finale of fiery technical feats and exuberant examples of the composer's characteristic folk rhythms.

  • Author:
    • 0: Antonin Dvorak
    • 1: Music Scores
  • CatalogNumberList:
    • CatalogNumberListElement: 0486449645
  • EANList:
    • EANListElement: 9780486449647
  • ItemDimensions:
    • Height: 1138
    • Length: 894
    • Weight: 115
    • Width: 36
  • Languages:
    • Language: Array
  • ListPrice:
    • Amount: 1695
    • CurrencyCode: USD
    • FormattedPrice: $16.95
  • PackageDimensions:
    • Height: 40
    • Length: 1190
    • Weight: 105
    • Width: 890