The Solent: Study Score

New: Check Amazon For The Latest Price. Buy from

Price as of 01/03/17

  • ASIN: 0193399415

Product Description

      Marking the first publication of an early work for chamber orchestra, this study score presents Vaughan Williams's The Solent, composed in 1903. The main theme from this work will be recognisable to many listeners, as it later found its way into both the Sea Symphony and the Ninth Symphony, albeit in a somewhat altered form. This duplication has intrigued many Vaughan Williams' scholars, as has the Philip Marston quotation that prefaces the scores: 'Passion and sorrow in the deep sea's voice, A mighty mystery saddening all the wind?'. The score has been edited by James Francis Brown and includes an introduction by the editor. Orchestral material is available on hire/rental form the hire library or appropriate agent.

  • Creator:
    • 0: James Francis Brown
    • 1: Ralph Vaughan Williams
  • EANList:
    • EANListElement: 9780193399419
  • ItemDimensions:
    • Height: 969
    • Length: 740
    • Width: 16
  • Languages:
    • Language: Array
  • PackageDimensions:
    • Height: 39
    • Length: 953
    • Weight: 18
    • Width: 717