The Four Seasons (Dover Miniature Music Scores)

New: $5.95

Price as of 08/20/17

  • ASIN: 048640644X

Product Description


Vivaldi's violin concertos called "The Four Seasons" are among the best-known and most-loved collections of string music. Their programmatic nature, based on the lines of sonnets printed along with the music, brings seasonal sights and sounds readily and delightfully to the ear: the bird calls in "Spring," the swarms of wasps in "Summer," the hunters' horns in "Autumn," the winds and icy snow of "Winter."
Dr. Eleanor Selfridge-Field, a recognized authority on music of the Italian Baroque, has researched primary sources in Italy to prepare this specially commissioned, authoritative new edition. Together with its excellent scores u2014 new music plates have been prepared to create an unusually pristine and elegant edition u2014 the volume provides a thorough introduction to Vivaldi's music and times, as well as a new English translation of the original sonnets (with a guide to their linear placement in the scores). The work appears here in full score, with bar-numbered movements. Ideal for study in the classroom, at home, or in the concert hall, this affordable, high-quality, conveniently sized volume will be the edition of choice for music students and music lovers alike.

  • Author:
    • 0: Antonio Vivaldi
    • 1: Music Scores
  • CatalogNumberList:
    • CatalogNumberListElement: DP16914
  • EANList:
    • EANListElement: Array
  • Edition: Edition
  • ItemDimensions:
    • Height: 840
    • Length: 609
    • Weight: 35
    • Width: 26
  • Languages:
    • Language: Array
  • ListPrice:
    • Amount: 595
    • CurrencyCode: USD
    • FormattedPrice: $5.95
  • PackageDimensions:
    • Height: 39
    • Length: 835
    • Weight: 40
    • Width: 591
  • UPCList:
    • UPCListElement: 800759406449