Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 in Full Score (Dover Music Scores)

New: $24.20

Price as of 09/23/17

  • ASIN: 0486408558

Product Description


One of the last of the Romantic composers, Edward Elgar (1857u20131934) was also one of England's greatest. Famous for the boldness of his musical creations, he composed works notable for their striking colors and unique, very personal sense of structure. The two symphonies in this collection represent Elgar's best and most powerful work.
The Symphony No, 1 in A-flat Major (Op. 55), termed by Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians as "the majestic opening of the richest periods in Elgar's career," created a sensation and was performed more than 100 times in the year of its debut. Its companion piece in this edition, Symphony No. 2 in E-flat Major (Op. 63), achieves an even greater degree of clarity and directness of expression. According to Grove's, "it may be taken to be the high-water mark of Elgar's creative genius in instrumental music." The composer himself called this work "the passionate pilgrimage of the soul."
Reproduced from authoritative scores in this handy, high-quality volume, the symphonies are sure to be warmly received by musicians and music lovers alike.

  • Author: Author
  • CatalogNumberList:
    • CatalogNumberListElement: 0486408558
  • EANList:
    • EANListElement: Array
  • ItemDimensions:
    • Height: 1117
    • Length: 840
    • Weight: 835
    • Width: 87
  • Languages:
    • Language: Array
  • ListPrice:
    • Amount: 2795
    • CurrencyCode: USD
    • FormattedPrice: $27.95
  • PackageDimensions:
    • Height: 80
    • Length: 1080
    • Weight: 180
    • Width: 840
  • UPCList:
    • UPCListElement: 800759408559