Dylan Thomas: The Caedmon Collection

New: $22.75

Price as of 06/21/17

  • ASIN: 0060790830

Product Description


Beginning in February 1952, Dylan Thomas made a series of memorable and historic recordings for a new record label called Caedmon. In fact, Dylan Thomas was the first to record for this new label, started by two 22u2013yearu2013old women, Marianne Roney and Barbara Cohen. Little did they know that in addition to capturing a part of history they also launched an industry of spokenu2013word recording.

This collection not only contains the incredible Caedmon recording sessions, but also recordings from the BBC, CBC, and other archival material Caedmon originally published in the 1950s and 1960s.

Highlights include: "A Child's Christmas in Wales" and "Five Poems"; "Do Not Go Gentle Into that Good Night", his prose: Adventures in the Skin Trade and Quite Early One Morning, and his final work u2013 Under Milk Wood, a play.

With stunning original album cover art, and an introduction read by former poet laureate Billy Collins, this unique collection includes not only Dylan Thomas reading his finest works, but also rare recordings of Thomas reading his favorite writers, including W.H. Auden and William Shakespeare.

  • Creator:
    • 0: Dylan Thomas
    • 1: Billy Collins
  • EANList:
    • EANListElement: 9780060790837
  • Edition: Edition
  • Format:
    • 0: Audiobook
    • 1: Box set
  • ItemDimensions:
    • Height: 590
    • Length: 512
    • Weight: 84
    • Width: 149
  • Languages:
    • Language: Array
  • ListPrice:
    • Amount: 2999
    • CurrencyCode: USD
    • FormattedPrice: $29.99
  • PackageDimensions:
    • Height: 130
    • Length: 600
    • Weight: 80
    • Width: 510